My first chili – Ridiculously delicious

I’m at home today, and had a pretty light breakfast.  I had ground beef that needed to be cooked today, a can of black beans that I’ve been wanting to use, plus a huge bag of potatoes that need to be consumed.  So, after searching the internets for inspiration, I decided to go for my own variation of chili, and it was done so quickly!  I think from ingredient assembly to finishing the meal, it took 40 minutes?  And I’m so stuffed, plus there’s a lot left over for later!

I’m a visual person, plus I’ve never made this before, so I first wanted to take out all the ingredients that I would need.  Not included are the green onion (I forgot about it at this stage) and the hemp seeds (spur of the moment decision, added to give texture, plus, you know…health benefits).  As you can see, I love spices.  And in the Grey Poupon jar in the back is a Turkish chili powder, that’s more of a earthy flavor and not spicy.  The “Red Chili Pepper” jar actually has Chipotle powder.  Ended up not using the cilantro.

IMG_6282
All the ingredients ready to go

Added the onion and garlic to the oil in the pan.  Once they were ready to go, added the beef and the spices.  (The spatula is coconut wood from Thailand, I love that thing!)  Cooked over a low heat.

IMG_6283
Yummy

Looks so delicious at this point.  I’m getting excited!

IMG_6285
Simmery goodness, after the pureed tomatoes

I’ve cooked ground beef to this point before, but I’ve never added beans to it before.  But, I didn’t hesitate, because I really wanted to see how it’d turn out.  It was also at this point that I added about 1.5 tbsp of hemp seeds, the lime juice and the Worcestershire sauce.

IMG_6286
With the black beans

I had the potato going in the microwave while this was cooking, which I ladled the finalized chili over.  Sprinkled the green onion over, added a healthy serving of salad & tomato, and half an avocado.  I again used only a splash of the pomegranate vinegar, along with the “Grey Poupon” chili powder.

IMG_6288
Final version

This was by far one of the best things I’ve ever made.  The whole meal came out to about 780 calories, and will easily last me the rest of the day.  This was one of the first times I’ve ever had chili or potato without sour cream or dairy, and the avocado’s creaminess easily replaced both, and I can honestly say that I didn’t miss either one.  And all the flavors and textures of the salad and the chili/baked potato just mixed perfectly together.

No black pepper, no dairy, trace amounts of malt and or grape (vinegar), and a very healthy & filling meal. I look forward to having this again.

Instagram

Leave a Reply

